Ministry of Public Security Portal is under construction

Deputy Minister Nguyen Van Thanh wins 4th ESCI Best Practices Awards

July, 11 2019
MPS - Deputy Minister of Public Security, Assoc. Prof. Dr., Senior Lieutenant General Nguyen Van Thanh won Low Carbon Model Towns pillar of the 4th ESCI Best Practices Awards Program with his project on building the Vietnamese city of Hai Phong into a Green Port city.

According to an official announcement of the APEC Energy Smart Communities Initiative Knowledge Sharing Platform (ESCI-KSP) on July 8, Deputy Minister Nguyen Van Thanh’s project, called “Hai Phong city”, on building Vietnam’s Hai Phong city into a Green Port city won the Silver title in Low Carbon Model Towns pillar of the 4th ESCI Best Practices Awards Program.

The final decision was made by the jury committee which was chaired by Dr. Eugenie L. Birch, Co-Director, Penn Institute for Urban Research, University of Pennsylvania and included jury members nominated by the 21 member economies of the APEC Energy Working Group.

Launched in 2010, ESCI has contributed greatly to the advancement of green growth, sustainable development, long-term job creation and APEC's goal of energy intensity reduction of at least 45 percent by 2035 with 2005 as the reference.

As the information hub of the ESCI network, the Knowledge Sharing Platform has helped disseminate and share best practices of ESCI's areas of focus in a systematic manner. 

As a way to encourage best practices, facilitate knowledge-sharing and give public recognition to individual accomplishments in the energy smart related cases within the APEC region, ESCI-KSP hosts an “ESCI Best Practices Awards Program”. The first awards was held in 2013, the second awards in 2015 and the third one in 2017 with the participation of great smart energy projects from APEC’s economies.

This year, 63 projects from 17 APEC economies had been sent to the 2019 ESCI Best Practices Awards Program. 25 of them from 13 economies were then selected for the finale, and  only 11 outstanding ones won different awards.

According to the organizers, the award ceremony slated for October 14-18, 2019, will coincide with the 58th APEC Energy Working Group Meeting in Chile. The winning teams, energy officials of APEC economies, and energy experts from relevant international organizations will be invited to the event.

The winners will receive trophies and deliver presentations on their projects.

By Minh Ngan